Sunday, November 16, 2008

N.B.Ceylan wins an Asia Pacific Screen Award


Men Jeuk (Sparrow, Hong Kong), Om Shanti Om (India), Tulpan (Kazakhstan, Russia, Switzerland/Poland/Germany), Uc maymun (Three Monkeys, Turkey/France/Italy) and Hong Se Kang Bai Yin (The Red Awn, The People’s Republic of China) will vie for Best Feature Film in the Asia Pacific Screen Awards to be announced on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia, on November 11.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards (the APSAs) – the region’s highest accolade in film in 2008 - has announced nominees in nine Award categories representing 33 films from 17 countries and areas of the Asia-Pacific region. They are Australia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, Lebanon, Qatar, New Zealand, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

Johnnie To’s Men Jeuk (Sparrow) has received four nominations - Best Feature Film, Achievement in Directing, Achievement in Cinematography and Best Performance by an Actor. Uc maymun (Three Monkeys), directed by Nuri Bilge Ceylan, has received three nominations. [1]

“The nominees were determined from more than 180 films from 43 countries and areas entered in these, the second APSAs. We are greatly encouraged by the response from filmmakers from Asia-Pacific in our mission to acclaim their work and promote it to an international audience. Once again, the nominees showcase the tremendous talent and creativity that exists in the burgeoning film industries of the region,” said APSA Chairman Des Power.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards – the APSAs – is a collaboration with CNN International, UNESCO and FIAPF – International Federation of Film Producers Associations and is an international cultural initiative to acclaim films that best reflect their cultural origins and demonstrate cinematic excellence.

APSA Nomination for Best Feature Film Uc Maymun’ (Three Monkeys) Turkey/France/Italy
Produced by Zeynep Özbatur. Co-Produced by Fabienne Vonier, Valerio De Paolis, Cemal Noyan, Nuri Bilge Ceylan | A family dislocated when small failings blow up into extravagant lies, battles against the odds to stay together by covering up the truth. In order to avoid hardship and responsibilities that would otherwise be impossible to endure, the family chooses to ignore the truth - not to see, hear or talk about it. But does playing ‘three monkeys’ invalidate the existence of truth?
APSA Nomination and Winner Achievement in Directing APSA for Achievement in Directing to Nuri Bilge Ceylan for ‘Uc Maymun’ (Three Monkeys) Turkey/France/Italy | Nuri Bilge Ceylan was born in Istanbul, Turkey in 1959. After graduating as an engineer from Bosphorus University, Istanbul, he studied filmmaking for two years at Mimar Sinan University, Istanbul. His credits include: Les Climats (2006) Uzak (2003) and Mayis Sikintisi (Clouds of May) (1999).
APSA Nomination for Achievement in Cinematography Gökhan Tiryaki for ‘Uc Maymun’ (Three Monkeys) Turkey/France/Italy | Gökhan Tiryaki was born in Istanbul, Turkey in 1972 and studied economics at Anadolu University. After graduating, Gökhan initially worked in the TV and documentary areas as a cameraman in Turkish radio and television and, since 1996, has been a Director of Photography and Steadycam operator for IMAJ. He has received several awards for his cinematography including Best Cinematography for Climates at the Thailand World Film Festival, 2006, and a Special Award of Mosfilm for Three Monkeys.

No comments: